Citizen Kane

I thought for some time what my first post about movies was going to be.  I decided to talk about the famous Citizen Kane, which has been the top movie of all time over and over, so what better choice for a first post.  I have seen the movie once, I saw it for the first time just over a week or so ago.  I’ve wanted to watch it so many times, but never have gotten the chance.  Well TCM showed it one night and I finally got the chance to sit down and give a look.  Now I am not here to give you any kind of synopsis.  I also have found lots of controversies about the film, I will allow you too look those up yourself.

The movie revolves around the life and death of Charles Foster Kane (Orson Welles) who creates an empire with the newspaper industry, but also has his own issues to deal with in life.  A young Orson Welles co-wrote, directed, and started in the famous movie.  Many of the other actors in the film were actors from Welles’ theater group, with some of them becoming big names later in Hollywood. 

The picture would go on to be nominated for 9 Academy Awards in 1941 and only win for Best Screenplay.  There was definitely some criticism from everyone on the film, and it has been said that block voting made sure Welles didn’t win for Best Picture and Best Actor.  People in Hollywood did not want this movie to be shown.  The film was based upon the life of William Rudolph Hearst (the owner of the New York Times) and Welles.  Hearst hated the fact that the film was loosely based off him that he banned anything about it in his papers.

So I’m not here to give you the synopsis of the film, you can find that anywhere.  The question that rolls around in my head is this, “Is Citizen Kane the greatest film of all time?”  I have seen a lot of movies in my 24 year life time and I mean a lot.  Old and new!  I would have to say it really does run up there as one of the top films ever made.  Now this is coming from a guy who has seen the film one time, but I could see the brilliance of the film, forgetting about all the controversy, you can find that elsewhere if you would like.

It’s a five out of five stars from me, and I think everyone should try to find the chance to see one of the biggest films of all time, Citizen Kane.  I’ll leave you with this one quote from the movie, “Rosebud.”

Thanks for reading,
Mason

Explore posts in the same categories: Movies

Leave a comment